The Daughters of the American Revolution in Black Hawk County began in 1899 as Waterloo and Cedar Falls chapter, with half of its meetings in Cedar Falls and half of its officers from Cedar Falls.  The Cedar Falls chapter was organized October 20, 1900, and received its charter on February 2, 1901.  The charter is in the Victorian Home and Carriage House Museum in Cedar Falls.


The Cedar Falls Chapter DAR is very active in the preservation of history in our area.  Early in its existence, we marked the “Real Daughters” graves in our area.  During the years following the founding of the Cedar Falls Historical Society, we helped furnish several of the rooms in the Victorian House and now have several members who continue to volunteer in the museums. 

We placed a “Bess Streeter Aldrich Bookshelf,” for a Cedar Falls pioneer author, in our Historical Society and in our local library.  During the Bicentennial year we honored Peter Melendy, an early mayor and civic leader by placing a plaque in the newly created

Peter Melendy Park in our downtown area.  We have also placed markers at the site of the first schoolhouse and bell, which was the first tower bell in Iowa; in Sturgis Park, named for the first permanent settlers; the Landmark Elm, which was a guide for Indians and settlers; the Newell Cemetery which contains the grave of Thunderwoman, an Indian woman buried there; and the Hillside Cemetery gravesite of Zimri Streeter, grandson of a Revolutionary soldier.


In 1999-2000 our Chapter sponsored the DAR Medal of Honor recipient.  This honor was the first Medal of Honor awarded to an Iowa woman by NSDAR.


Cedar Falls DAR is proud of its members and especially those who have served the State and National Societies.  Members who have served as ISDAR State Officers include:
    State Regent:  Dorothy Zlobik Winter 2004-2006
    State Vice-Regent:  Dorothy Zlobik Winter 2002-2004
    State Chaplain:  Neva Dexter Witmer 1994-1996
    State Recording Secretary:  Claire Tuttle Markle 1968-1970
    State Corresponding Secretary:  Dorothy Zlobik Winter 2000-2002
    State Treasurer:  Neva Dexter Witmer 1998-2000
    State Registrar:  Claire Tuttle Markle 1970-1972
    State Historian:  Neva Dexter Witmer 1992-1994

Chapter records reveal that throughout the years many chapter members have served a variety of State Chairman positions.  These include American History, Commemorative Events, ISDAR Newsletter, Pressbook, NSDAR Magazine, Conference Pianist, Pages, By-Laws, Auditing, Budget and Finance, President General's Project, ISDAR Handbook, ISDAR Rulings Book, Junior Membership Chairman and ISDAR Speakers Staff.  Other service of note includes Claire Tuttle Markle as Senior State President (1972-1973) for Iowa C.A.R.  National Chairman positions include Neva D. Witmer as NC Division Vice Chairman for The Flag of the United States (2004-2007) and Dorothy Winter as a Vice Chairman for the National Development Committee (2007-2010).   Members who have served as Northeast District Director include Joy Parry Sires, 1988-1990; Neva D. Witmer, 1996-1998, and Marcia Spicer Cunningham, 2000-2002. Junior Member, Jodi Freet, is Iowa's Outstanding Junior, 2011-2012.

We will continue to honor our ancestors, promote patriotism, education, and historical preservation, while supporting our youth and our community.









Web hyperlinks to non-DAR sites are not the responsibility of the NSDAR, the state organizations, or individual DAR chapters.
Site last updated 28 July 2014 Contact the Webmaster.